I know what you were thinking.

You thought I was holding out on you.

No, not about the governor, although you know I had to slip that in there one more time. I can’t help myself. I don’t get out much. So no, I wasn’t holding out about the governor at all. (Okay I swear that’s the last time. I’m even annoying myself now).

You heard I went to Wing Wars and you thought I was going to hold out on the results, didn’t you?

You were waiting on the edge of your seat, wanting to know the best wings in the city, weren’t you?

Well, friends, let me first say that I would never, ever, hold out on you guys like that. I take my wings seriously and I take my Wing Wars seriously, even if this was the first one I’ve ever attended. And folks, I ate not one, not two, but more than FIFTEEN different types of wings this weekend just because I have no willpower wanted to report the results to you. And I didn’t even charge you for the jumbo-sized box of Tums I needed afterwards! See, see what a good person I am? I’m not a person who would hold out on you!

So, without further ado, here are my favorite wings from the first ever Charm City Wing Wars:

  1. Alexander’s Tavern – These were hot but not too hot, with depth of flavor and flecks of what I believe to be horseradish, although I can’t 100% vouch for that because it was hot outside, and I was focusing on trying to figure out a way to hold my beer, balance my plate and napkin, and eat a wing all at the same time while ALSO not spilling said beer, getting sauce from said wing all over my face and/or clothing OR looking like someone with grossly underdeveloped motor skills. These things do not come easy to me people. Tables: I like them.
  2. Michael’s – These were perfectly spicy and tender, and they had a richness to them that I really liked. They reminded me of Alexander’s but without the extra kick from the don’t-quote-me-on-it horseradish.
  3. Delia Foley’s – I’m not usually into sweet-n-spicy flavored anything (insert joke here) and I certainly wasn’t expecting an Irish place to deliver anything extraordinary, but Delia Foley’s wing (a special mix of their garlic parmesan and orangeman wing being added to the menu next week) was well-balanced, with really bright flavors and a nice kick. Also, I’ve been watching a lot of Top Chef re-runs lately, if you couldn’t tell by that last sentence.

Runner up: Mother’s wings were really good, but then again anything would be really good dipped into their insanely delicious homemade blue cheese sauce-of-the-gods. I would buy that stuff from the case if I could.

Honorable mention: The originality of Looney’s honey Old Bay wing deserves a mention, though it was just a tad sweet for my taste.

*Disclaimer: While these are my winners, I don’t know that they are the winners. I didn’t stick around to hear the results because after eating my weight in wings, I naturally went a block over to the Oyster Festival to eat my weight in raw oysters. Naturally. Ohhh good decisions, good decisions all around.

