I’m a TCBY addict from way back, so when I learned that they were opening the *first ever* self-serve TCBY in my neighborhood, I was practically knocking down their doors (or, more accurately, stalking their Facebook page) to try it out. I got my opportunity last Friday, and folks, let’s just say it did not disappoint.

The set-up is pretty much the same as every other self-serve yogurt shop I’ve been to. You grab a ginormous cup, stand in front of the ice cream machines with your mouth agape–putting far more thought into your flavor decision than you’d like to admit–then try to hold yourself back from completely filling up said ginormous cup with yogurt. Then you add another flavor because you couldn’t choose just one. The only thing that’s different about TCBY is that they have peanut butter flavored yogurt, so your flavor decision is made exponentially easier. I like easy.

Once you have your cup filled with yogurt, the topping possibilities abound. You can choose from fruit (if you’re healthy), chocolate (if you’re like me), gummi bears (if you’re in elementary school or your name is Adam), and even something called “chocolate rocks” which sounds pretty unappetizing to me, but hey, if that’s your thing I’m okay with it. They also have hot fudge, caramel, marshmallow and peanut butter sauce, which I only revert to when said peanut butter yogurt is not available.

Peanut butter flavored yogurt with crushed peanut butter cups, dried coconut, mini peanut butter cups, mini non-nonpareils, and reese’s pieces. Do you see a pattern here?

Tart yogurt with strawberries and blueberries

Emily and I agree it’s pretty much the best thing ever. Truth be told, I’m a little worried at its proximity to my house. Let’s just say I’m already the foursquare mayor of the place, and I have a feeling that with a few more trips I’m going to be on a first-name basis with the ice cream shop girls. Not such a good look when it’s bikini season.

