I’ve been on a little reading kick lately, so I thought it might be nice to share my take on a few books with you. I just love how books can transport you to another world–when I start a really good one it’s almost all I can think about until I’m done, and then when I’m finished I feel sad that it’s over! It’s almost like losing a friend (nerdy, but true).  Anyway, I know I’m always looking for book recommendations and I hope this helps you get a few ideas for good books to snuggle up with this winter. Let’s start with To Love What Is by Alix Kates Shulman:

To Love What Is is a quick but compelling read about an author turned unexpected caretaker for her brain-injured husband. Despite the grim subject matter, the book is uplifting and optimistic, bringing to light some interesting research on brain injuries and the overall level of contentedness of individuals who suffer from them and their caretakers (read: it isn’t much different from the rest of us). The author’s voice is reflectively honest and poignant enough for readers to overlook the occasional political digressions, which come off a bit arrogant. Overall the book is lovely, and ideal for anyone empathetic with the intricacies of complex relationships—romantic or not.

Do you have any good books you’d recommend reading? I’d love to hear!

 

P.S.  Goodreads is a great Web-based tool for anyone looking to keep track of a reading list. xo

Image via

