I just finished reading The Next Thing on My List by Jill Smolinski, and I loved how the book’s clumsy main character bravely accomplishes the goals of a deceased friend. I can relate to the concept of creating a list of long-term goals that include both new things to try and serious accomplishments–I once found a similar list in one of my high school journals and was relieved to learn I had already checked a few things off of it (walking to work, running a half marathon, skydiving, traveling to Italy). Other things, like going to Graceland, aren’t on the top of my list anymore. So I decided to make a new list for my book club meeting, where we’ll talk about what we want to do in the next five years. Here it is, corny as it may be:

1. Begin freelancing again

2. Travel to a new continent (South America is calling my name – doesn’t the Brazilian river pub in the photo above look so relaxing?)

3. Finish my master’s degree

4. Go to a big music festival, like South by Southwest or the New Orleans Jazz Festival

5. Have dinner at Le Bernadin

What’s the next thing on your list? I’d love to hear. xo

Image care of here.

