I must have pleased the TV gods or eaten too much of the delicious but completely radioactive I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spray, as last week I randomly clicked on an HBO channel expecting to get the “You Must Subscribe…” message but instead the channel came through free and clear! I definitely don’t have a subscription to any movie channels (that’s what Netflix/Hulu is for) and I should probably feel guilty or call someone about the glitch, but every time I think about picking up the phone I remember that time I waited four hours for my Verizon FIOS guy to come set up our cable and I promptly hang up. So rather than turn down my free movie channel, I instead frantically clicked around every possible HBO channel and HBO On Demand show to see exactly how far this gift would go. And I gladly report that I have the whole she-bang: HBO Family, HBO On Demand, HBO Espanol…more HBO than you could ever want or need. It’s like the Easter Bunny came early.

In my quest to consume as much HBO as humanly possible before someone fixes this error, I stumbled upon a not-so-little known gem called Band of Brothers. Now, normally a World War II mini-series is not my thing, but I gave it a shot in the name of Verizon revenge and let me tell you that I am so glad I did. It’s full of wonderfully talented, little-known actors who bring courageous true stories to life in a way that makes me understand–and actually believe–the old men who I always seem to sit next to on airplanes that call themselves “the greatest generation.”

My favorite character by far is Sgt. Richard Winters. His unlikely combination of tenacity and empathy make the war seem relatable, his good looks get me through the gruesome war scenes, and his quiet virtuosity makes me feel a little guilty for watching him on stolen HBO. Here he is, in all his uniformed-glory. Isn’t he adorable?

Sgt. Richard Winters, Band of Brothers

Image care of IGN.

