I’m feeling a little under the weather today and am staying home from work to nurse my sore throat. It’s so soothing to be curled up at home with fluffy pillows, hot tea, and a good book, but I can’t help but think about all of the things I should be doing–work work, schoolwork, chores around the house. It’s a strange push-pull that’s become ever more familiar in my adulthood–the push to meet my obligations before meeting my need, and the guilt when circumstances compel me to slow down and focus on myself. It’s something that I’ll probably always struggle with, as I’m sure do many others (particularly women, it seems). So today I’m going to work on releasing that guilt and focusing on what I need physically so that I can start feeling better and get back to the task at hand.

(I can’t remember where I found this image – if you know the source, please let me know so I can add it here!)

